About the Chapter

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded by 22 college women in 1913 on the campus of Howard University. Today the Sorority has over 250,000 members in the United States and abroad, dedicated to public service.

The Schaumburg-Hoffman Estate Alumnae Chapter was chartered on March 2, 1991, officially becoming a part of the Mighty Midwest Region.The Chapter currently has over 80 active members. Since 1991, members have used their talents, time ,and resources to undertake efforts to promote literacy, diabetes awareness, aid domestic violence survivors, tutor area youth, award high school seniors scholarships and to support international programs in Haiti and Liberia.


We have many members who have served on various National and Regional Leadership teams within the Sorority.

Chapter Charter Members
Chapter Charter Members

(l to r) First row: Phoegina Brown, Earline Barnes, Letitia Lovely Robinson; Back row: Deborah Vaughn Biddle, Myla Smith Meeks, Patricia Haley Glass - Photo taken at SHAC 20th Anniversary 2011


The twelve charter members of the Schaumburg-Hoffman Estates Alumnae Chapter are:


Jacqueline Anderson

Felicia A. Markes

Earline Hutto Barnes

Myla Smith Meeks

Deborah Vaughn Biddle

Harriet Williams Richard

Phoegina Brown *

Letitia Lovely Robinson *

Patricia Haley-Glass*

Karen E. Thomas

Lesli Scott Isaac

Michelle Wingo-Harrell

* - Currently active with the Chapter